Bullets crowned 2022-23 Super League champions

By Staff Reporter

Nyasa Big Bullets have been officially crowned 2022-23 TNM Super League champions for the fourth consecutive season after their 2-1 win against Dedza Dynamos at Kamuzu Stadium in Blantyre.

Babatunde Adepoju opened the scoring for the People’s team in the 31st minute but Dynamos equalised 10 minutes later through a beautifully taken corner-kick by Ibrahim Sadick.

Dedza came a better side in the second half creating a number of scoring opportunities forcing Bullets to bring on the field vice captain Precious Sambani, Chimwemwe Idana and Hassan Kajoke who scored the winner for the Ndirande outfit.

Kajoke restored Bullets’ lead 30 minutes in the second half after Adepoju missed the chance to increase his goal scoring tally in the 65th minute as his spot kick was denied by the woodwork.

After the game, Nyasa Big Bullets’ defender Frank Willard was voted man of the match.

The win means that Bullets have now finished the season with 73 points from 30 games ten points above second placed Blue Eagles FC who have finished the season with 63 points.

This means that the People’s team have broken their own record set in 2018 when they finished the season with 71 points.

Babatunde Adepoju has finished the season as the top goal scorer with 18 goals followed by Muhammad Sulumba and Chawanangwa Kaonga who scored 15 goals and 13 goals respectively.

Nyasa Big Bullets coach Kalisto Pasuwa has since dedicated the team’s 16th super league title to the fans.

“Truly my heart, I would like to thank the fans so much for the support that they gave us, I think this season belongs to them in terms of the support they were putting on us.” – Said Pasuwa

In other final super league games, Blue Eagles and Mafco FC played out to a 1-all draw at Nankhaka Stadium in Lilongwe.

In Balaka, Mighty Mukuru Wanderers relied on a Felix Zulu’s lone goal to beat Red Lions 1-0 at Balaka Stadium.