Chakwera appoints 12 new Cabinet Ministers, others to follow soon

By Chisomo Phiri

In exercise of the powers coffered upon him by Section 94(1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Malawi, President Lazarus Chakwera has appointed 12 initial cabinet Ministers with effect from Wednesday, January 26, 2022.

In his initial Cabinet, it is with a surprise that many Ministers have maintained their Ministerial positions such as Health Minister, Gender Minister, Agriculture Minister, Culture and Tourism Minister, Justice Minister Education Minister, just to mention some.

In a statement, Secretary to the President and Cabinet Zanga-zanga Chikhosi says, the rest of appointees to cabinet will be made soon owing to Chakwera’s simultaneou preoccupation with national emergency.

According to the statement, below is the list of 12 initial Cabinet Ministers:

1. Honorable Lobin C. Lowe, M.P., Minister of Agriculture
2. Honorable Michael Bizwick Usi, Minister of Tourism, Culture and Wildlife
3. Honorable Patricia Annie Kaliati, Minister of Gender, Community Development and Social Welfare
4. Honorable Titus Mvalo, Minister of Justice
5. Honorable Agnes Nyalonje, Minister of Education
6. Honorable Khumbize Kandodo Chiponda, M.P, Minister of Health
7. Honorable Jacob Hara, M.P, Minister of Minister of Transport and Public Works
8. Honorable Blessings Darlo Chinsinga, Minister of Local Government
9. Honorable Vera Kamtukule, Minister of Labour
10. Honorable Abida Sidik Mia, M.P, Minister of Water and Sanitation
11. Honorable Mark Katsonga Phiri, M.P, Minister of Trade and Industry
12. Honorable Samuel Kawale M.P, Minister of Lands

The new cabinet comes barely few days after Chakwera dissolved his old cabinet.