Chakwera inspects Construction of Security Agencies Houses in Dowa

By Staff Reporter

President Dr Lazarus Chakwera has today embarked on developmental projects tour of the central region by inspecting the construction progress of 59 security agencies houses which are at an advanced stage at Mvera Support Battalion in Dowa district.

Addressing the gathering at Andrew Murray Ground in the area of Senior Chief Chiwere, after the inspection of houses, President Chakwera assured people of Dowa for more developmental initiatives in various sectors to improve and enhance their livelihoods.

He said government will continue to intensify efforts to ensure that people of Dowa have access to clean water for improved hygiene and sanitation.

Chakwera being welcomed by Lands Minister Hon Deus Gumba

Speaking earlier, Minister of Local government, Unity and Culture who is also Member of Parliament for Dowa east constituency, Richard Chimwendo Banda commended President Chakwera for being development oriented and also for spearheading unity among Malawians, which he described as a catalyst for sustainable development.

The 59 houses are part of the national project which government through the Ministry of Lands is implementing, with the goal of constructing 10 thousand houses for all security agencies across the country.

The ministry has already constructed 1028 houses in the first phase of the project.

Currently Government has already handed over 15 houses at Malamya Police in Mangochi, 20 houses at Mzuzu police, 10 houses at Jenda police, 20 houses at Ndirande Police and 20 houses at Bangwe police.

Upon arrival President Chakwera was welcomed by Minister of Defence, Harry Mkandawire; Minister of Lands, Deus Gumba; Minister of Local Government Unity and Culture, Richard Chimwendo Banda; First Deputy Speaker of the National Assembly, Madalitso Kazombo; Deputy Minister of Health, Halima Daud; Secretary to the President and Cabinet, Colleen Zamba; Commander of the Malawi Defence Forces, Paul Valentino Phiri; Chiefs and other senior government officials.