Dr Ken Zikhale Ng’oma gets “Outstanding MP Award 2020” from London Political Summit

The Nkhatabay South legislator and Malawi Congress Party Director of strategy Dr Ken Zikhale Ng’oma has been the recipient of this year’s London political summit award as an outstanding  member of parliament in the year 2020.

The award was presented to Dr Zikhale by Limbani “Taygrin” Kalirani , who is the London Political Summit ambassador . According to the organisers, Dr Zikhale was considered for the award for his outstanding work in Nkhatabay South constituency where he has embarked on a submissive piped project where he is replacing boreholes so that every village should be drawing tap water. The legislator has also donated Maize mills to his constituents and contributed towards building health centres.

Dr Ken Zikhale Ng’oma receiving the London Political Summit award

In his acceptance speech, Dr Zikhale thanked the organisers of the awards for picking him out as the winner. He highlighted that he understands how hard it might have been for the organisers to pick out a Member of Parliament who has been innovative, creative and a performer and he was excited to end up being their final choice.

He also took time to thank people of Nkhatabay south, especially those in the committees that have been helping him in the delivering of these projects

“I thank the members of business community, the chiefs in Nkhatabay, the church and this forum called Ndale mu Nkhatabay for all the help they have provided to me. I am receiving this honour on behalf of the people of Nkhatabay, but let me also thank our President Dr Lazarus Chakwera of whom I am dedicating this award to, for the great advice he has been giving me and for the direction he is taking Malawi to as the leader of our nation” said Zikhale

London Political Summit is the yearly awards event that aims at recognizing African leaders that have promoted peace and democracy.  Apart from its flagship The Uhuru/Raila Peace-Accord Award that was created in 2018 following a truce between Kenyan President Uhuru Kenyatta and former Prime Minister Raila Odinga after a conflict that emanated from a 2017 general election, the Summit also recognises other contributions from various individuals in the political spectrum.

Previous Malawi Award winners  include Taygrin who was awarded as a promising , young emerging African politician in 2019.