Malawi Assemblies Of God elects new leadership

The Malawi Assemblies of God has new leadership following its 2020 General Assembly that has been held at the church’s headquarters in Lilongwe on Friday morning August 21, 2020.

Following the church’s constitution that leaders in various positions have to serve for a term of 4 years, Malawi Assemblies Of God Pastors gathered yesterday in Lilongwe 4 years after ushering leaders in various leadership positions to constitute the same mandate. The elective General Assembly has seen some new faces taking positions, others maintaining or shifting from the positions they have been serving since 2016 mandate, while other faces have been exited.

Rev Dube and his wife

On the position of the president, Reverend Dr. Andrew Dube of Dream Center in Blantyre who until today was the deputy president has emerged the winner to replace the incumbent president Reverend Dr. Edward Chitsonga. Reverend Dr. Edward Chitsonga has been president for Malawi Assemblies Of God Church since 2013, after Reverend Dr. Lazarus Chakwera who had just been elected by then as the president resigned from the position to join party politics. Dr. Chakwera remains the only pastor to have served the church as its president for many years. On the position of the deputy president which was being held by the newly elected president, the delegates have elected Reverend Benito Chisamba to take charge. Reverend Chisamba was not part of the previous National Executive Committee.

Other positions elected are as follows:
Reverend Matlida Matabwa(Secretary General) the same position she has been holding since 2016 and the only female pastor in the NEC, with Reverend Spade Mwale voted as her deputy coming from outside the previous committee to replace Reverend Daniel Masamba. The delegates have also reelected into office Reverends Dr. Jim Botoman and Medson Jackson as the Treasurer General and Deputy Treasurer General respectively, with Reverend Francis Chima being elected as Director for Evangelism (DEM) replacing Reverend Elton Kananji who was holding the position. The delegates who were drawn from all the 6 Divisions of the church have also voted Rev. Donnex Mwenesungo to continue as Director for Northern Division, Rev. Kamwana to head North Central Division for the first time, Rev. Evans Jeka reelected as Director for Central Division, Rev. Steven Kadzokoya as Director to head the Southern Division for another term and Rev. Jimmy M’bwana for the first time has been mandated to be Director for the South Eastern Division.

As we went to press, the delegates were still casting their votes for the rest of the positions within the Divisions.

Our visit at the venue reveals that all prevention measurers against the Covid-19 were observed and adhered to.

Reported by Chilimunthaka