Mittawa now SULOM president

By Chisomo Phiri

Colonel Gilbert Mittawa has on Saturday March 30,2024 been elected unopposed as the new Super League of Malawi (SULOM) President during the association’s Annual General Meeting(AGM) held at Ufulu Gardens in Lilongwe.

Mittawa succeeds Fleetwood Haiya, who now serves as the President of the Football Association of Malawi(FAM) after being elected in December last year, having served less than a term as SULOM President.


On the other hand, Kamuzu Barracks general Secretary William Nhlane is now SULOM Executive Committee Member after defeating Charles Manyungwa with 26 votes against 22.

Nhlane’s victory came  in third attempt after the two tied in two voting times.

He replaces Daudi Mtanthiko who ascended to FAM as Executive member.

Super League of Malawi, also known as the TNM Super League for sponsorship reasons, is the top football division in Malawi.

Contested by 16 clubs, it operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the Malawi Regional Football Leagues.

Nhlane, new SULOM Executive Member