Justice Annabel Mtalimanja appointed new MEC chair

By Chisomo Phiri

President Dr.Lazarus Chakwera has appointed Justice Annabel Mtalimanja as new chairperson of the Malawi Electoral Commission (MEC), replacing Justice Chifundo Kachale whose four year tenure ended on June 6 2024.

According to a statement by MEC spokesperson Sangwani Mwafulirwa, President Chakwera has also appointed Reverend Phillip Kambulire and Dr. Limbikani Kamlongera as Commissioners, replacing Anthony Mukumbwa and Olivia Liwewe.


Other commissioners are Dr Emmanuel Fabiano, Francis Lazalo Kasaila and Caroline Mfune.

The appointments are with effect from June 7, 2024.

MEC’s mission is to deliver credible elections that are free, fair, transparent, inclusive, efficient and cost-effective to entrench democratic values in Malawi.