Its Chakwera, Malawis New President

By Kondanani Chilimunthaka

The nullification of May 21,2019 presidential election results has seen the citizens of Malawian ushering into office of the president a new leader following the Fresh Presidential Election in the name of Lazarus McCarthy Chakwera

Chakwera who stood on the ticket of Tonse alliance is the president of the longest political party in Malawi (Malawi Congress Party) and will be the *6th* president to lead Malawi since independence in 1964. Dr. Chakwera who is coming from the background of being a church minister and president of the Malawi Assemblies of God Church from 1989 to May 14, 2013 will be the first pastoral president to lead Malawi.

His election has come with a great hope to Malawians for a new Malawi which will unite Malawians from all the 3 regions. Dr. Lazarus Chakwera has amassed almost 2,597,088 votes (close to 60%) to defeat the incumbent president Professor Peter Mutharika who got nearly 1,742,082 votes. Malawi has had 5 presidents since independence who are Dr. Hastings Kamuzu Banda (1964-1994), Dr. Bakili Muluzi (1994-2004), Professor Bingu Wa Mutharika (2004-2012), Dr. Joyce Banda (2012-2014) and the outgoing Professor Peter Mutharika (2014-to-date).

The electoral body in Malawi, Malawi Electoral Commission is yet to make the official announcement to declare the winner.