President Chakwera calls for unity, reconciliation among Malawians

By Chisomo Phiri

President Dr. Lazarus Chakwera has  called on Malawians to put aside their differences and come together as one people.

Speaking during the enthronement of Bishop William Mchombo, the third Bishop of the Anglican Diocese of the Upper Shire, at St. Peters and Paul Cathedral in Mangochi on Saturday, President Chakwera emphasized that despite our varied tribes, political beliefs, and religious affiliations, we are all children of God and must work towards a common goal.

“Today is a day of celebration. Let us rejoice in our unity and our shared humanity,” President Chakwera exclaimed.

“As we gather in this sacred place, let us remember that we are all one in God’s image. Let us promote our country with pride and celebrate the achievements of our fellow Malawians who are making a positive impact across the world,” he added.

The President also emphasized the importance of unity in development, urging citizens to support and appreciate the progress made by our predecessors and current leaders.

“Let us stand together in development and governance, and let us be proud of our achievements. We are stronger together,” said Chakwera.

On his part, Archbishop Dr. Albert Chama, Head of the Anglican Province of Central Africa, echoed the President’s sentiments, urging the new Bishop to love and guide both the church and the government.

He said:”It has not been an easy journey, but we have kept praying and trusting in God’s plan. We thank God for this new chapter in our journey together.”

Bishop Mchombo, who was born in Zambia to Malawian parents, promised to collaborate with the government in development and governance.

“I am humbled to serve this great nation and its people. Let us work together towards a brighter future for all Malawians,” he said.

The ceremony was attended by senior religious leaders and followers from the Anglican diocese, as well as government officials, including Speaker of the National Assembly Catherine Gotani Hara and Cabinet Ministers.