TNM Announces 2021 Super League Media Competition

By Staff Reporter

TNM Plc, the long-time sponsor of Malawi’s top flight football league, the Super League, has announced the opening of the window for the 2021 Super League Media Awards.

According to TNM’s Brands and Communication Manager Limbani Nsapato Entries for the competition should be submitted through the Awards Secretariat, FD Communications Ltd during the submission window from 13th October to 29th October 2021. Thereafter, an independent panel of judges will assess the entries and determine winners who will be awarded at a joint Super League Awards Gala.

TNM’s Brands and Communication Manager Limbani Nsapato

Nsapato went on to say this year’s awards makes special recognition of the role played by journalists in bringing life and excitement to the league amidst challenges posed by the Covid-19 Pandemic.

“The role of the media in taking the TNM Super League to different audiences and critical mass in this era when the Covid-19 pandemic has dramatically changed how the game of football is played and patronized, deserves special recognition and honour,” he said.

He said media is a critical component in football development, the awards provide a platform to promote quality sports journalism, integrity and recognition of outstanding football reporters and analysts.

“At TNM we understand that football development is achieved when media is vibrant and through the awards, we underscore our commitment towards media development and professionalism,” he said.

He said that TNM will maintain the format used last year where winners were determined after rigorous scrutiny by a panel of independent judges.

“The independent panel of judges looks for the very best and finest in the field of football journalism, which is a major industry worldwide. Let the best journalists win,” added Nsapato.

Award categories are Best Print Journalist, Best Radio Journalist, Best Television Journalist, Best Online Journalist, Best Photojournalist (Print, Online and Television), Best Columnist (Print and Online) and Best Commentator (Radio & Television).

Category winners should look forward to cash prizes, a Certificate of Recognition and Merit Trophy.

Meanwhile TNM Plc is set to crown the 2020/21 Super League Champions, Nyasa Big Bullets FC on Saturday, 16th October at Kamuzu Stadium after one of the season’s last two matches between the back-to-back champions and Karonga United.